Iowa basketball searches for reinforcements

On the eve of last month’s Big Ten basketball tournament, Archie Miller was discussing Iowa State and coach Fran McCaffery during The Field of 68 show “After Dark.”

“Fran McCaffrey doesn’t get enough recognition for how he evaluates, recruits and develops players, and his style of play,” the former Indiana coach said.

Keegan Murray, a finalist for both the Naismith and Wooden Awards, is the latest A. Luke Garza show, who won both of those awards in 2021, was Exhibit B and it goes deeper than that. The Big Ten first-team players Devin Marple, Aaron White and Peter Jock were not recruited by any of the other Big Ten schools. Another first player, Jarrod Uthoff, moved to Iowa from Wisconsin.

Leave a Comment